Jeremy in Galicia

Just another WordPress.com site

Back in the Spanish Groove

I feel like I’m really starting to get back in the groove here.  Interestingly enough, it was about this time two years ago that I truly began to feel settled in in Extremadura.  Call it a four-month Spanish incubation period or something.  I think it involves a combination of factors – getting into a routine, both at school and in my free time, and getting to know my town and establishing relationships with the people who live here.  I’ve finally saved up a decent amount of cash to be able to do some serious traveling.  Up to this point I’ve been pretty content with sticking around here in my general area, aside from a couple of trips to visit friends in Extremadura.  It’s safe to say I’m officially back in action here, but how did I get to this point?  I think it’s time I shed some light on my daily life.

Starting with school.  I’m still working with my 12 hours a week, Monday through Thursday.  By comparison, last time I was in Spain I had those 12 hours plus five more on Friday and about eight more throughout the week in the afternoons.  Although I’m making less cash this time around, I’m really not too concerned.  I still have plenty of money to live off of and I’ve got a lot more free time to work on side projects like this blog and my videos.  In addition, having the extra time is allowing me to better appreciate my time here and further contemplate what I’m trying to get out of this experience while deciding what my goals ultimately are.  My students are generally pretty hard to calm down and sometimes it’s difficult to get them to focus, but overall they’ve got great hearts and I get the feeling that they genuinely enjoy my presence in class.  Just like in Extremadura, my relationship with the teachers at the school is great.  They are all so welcoming and open to helping me get to know the region.  Yesterday I had lunch at the home of two teachers I work with (they are married).  Some of the best experiences here (or anywhere abroad) come from moments like this, truly being in the element of foreign life and being able to see first-hand what life is like in a foreign land – not on a special day of celebration, but rather on a normal day like any other.  I’ve realized it’s important to truly appreciate and take advantage of these moments and not take them for granted.  The family lives out in the country, on the same plot of land that their relatives have had for generations.  The house still preserves much of the original structure while featuring numerous contemporary upgrades.  The best way I can think about describing it is “very rustic.”  They’ve got an awesome back yard filled with trees (e.g. orange trees fig trees) and vineyards which they use to make their own wine.  José Luis explained to me that back in the day the family literally used the land to produce everything that was needed to live.  From grains and corn, to fruits, vegetables, and even animals.  Walking around soaking in the surroundings left me pretty speechless.  Of course the food was great.  First baked peppers and cheese followed by this potato and some sort of squid-like sea creature dish.  This was complemented by unlimited fresh bread, vino casero, and of course some pastry dessert.  I felt pretty Gallego to say the least.  Here’s a video I found on youtube of some Spanish dude cooking something almost exactly the same as the squid-like creature dish.

Around town I’m also starting to get pretty well established.  It’s a cool feeling to walk around such a random Galician village and see people who I know and can genuinely consider friends.  There’s a group of us that meet to play Texas Hold’em twice a week.  Usually every Sunday and one night during the week.  These nights are great for some laid-back casual banter, not to mention they’re a good way to make up for that cash that I’m not making through extra classes. “Qué bien juegan los americanos el poker!”  “Pues claro, ellos lo inventaron.”  Since I came back after Christmas, Óscar and I have a third roommate, another American named Hayes from Connecticut.  Hayes is pretty dope and I feel like we get along really well.  There’s also this guy Max from Chicago who lives a couple of towns over.  Although he got pasta sauce on my white Johnny Knox jersey, it was nice to have a fellow Chicagoan around as we suffered together through the demise of the Bears.  Since then, the three of us have been raiding the local pubs together.  One thing I have realized though is how special my relationship is with my friends from Extremadura, mostly Ángel and Rubén.  My time spent there was unique and it’s become clear to me that they are a large part of the reason that coming to Spain affected me so strongly.  If I decide to ultimately become a Spanish teacher or continue to work with Spanish, I can have them to thank for introducing me to the true benefits of multicultural interaction.  As with anything, it’s all about the people, and meeting friends like them is alone enough to make this all worthwhile.  Although I’ve yet to become true friends with anyone here like I did with them, it takes time to build relationships and I feel like I am well on my way.

Expect another chapter of “Un americano en Galicia” soon.  I’ve been using the videos in some of my classes to develop listening activities with the students so I think overall it’s been a success in that regard.  Here’s a couple of photos down by some of the beaches around town.  I’ve since lost my black stocking cap which is annoying (don’t ask me how or when I lost it because I’ve got no idea).  Also the sunset was pretty awesome to say the least.  Challenge for people to come visit and check it out in person!  Big win for the Bulls last night.

February 18, 2011 - Posted by | Ribeira, School

1 Comment »

  1. GREAT GUY…GREAT LIFE….Sounds like you are really enjoing the experience even though it is very different from the first time around…Life is a journey…enjoy yours!

    Comment by Dawn Sanchez | March 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment