Jeremy in Galicia

Just another WordPress.com site

Big “Puente” Coming Up

So this coming week there is a holiday in Spain.  As I don’t work on Fridays, the vacation has already begun for me.  Next Monday is “El Día de la Constitución” (Day of the Constitution) and next Wednesday is “El Día de la Virgen” (The Day of the Virgin).  Yes, that should be taken in a religious context.  So basically there is no school on Tuesday and because I only have two hours of class on Thursday they gave it to me off.  So as of right now I don’t have to return to school until December 13th.  I’ve decided to take advantage of this and do some traveling.  I’m off to Barcelona until Tuesday and then I’ll be heading back to my former Spanish town in Extremadura to hang out with old friends and teachers and what not.  I remember when I was in Villanueva (my old town) I met someone from Barcelona and he told me that Extremadura is “el culo de España” (the ass of Spain).  He made it pretty clear that it was in a cultural sense, not geographical.  I disagree, but I am interested to see how the people I meet this weekend in Barcelona compare to my “amigos extremeños.”  I’m really excited to see Barcelona as I’ve never been.  It’s also going to be great to see people in Villanueva that I haven’t seen since I left Spain the first time.

I still need to tell the crab story I know… I’m sorry.  After this trip I will have plenty to add to that story.  The first thing I’ll do when I get back (after taking a huge siesta) will be posting on this blog.  It’s a promise.  Until then, enjoy life and be happy!

Here’s a shot looking down on my town during my walk up to school one day.  Power lines are lame…

HASTA PRONTO!

December 2, 2010 - Posted by | Ribeira, Travels

2 Comments »

  1. Next Wednesday is the Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Thank you Mary for your holiday 🙂 Safe travels.

    Comment by Leeeeeeesa | December 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. Looks lovely – can’t wait til dad and I come to visit.

    Comment by Mom | December 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment